Saturday, April 13, 2024

How to Factory Reset MacBook: To Erase All the Content

Mac is the most used product and everyone desires to have it due to its amazing features. But when you want to buy a new MacBook or sell it or give it to strangers or donate it to an organisation then you will definitely want to erase all your personal information, data, images, videos and files before parting with it.

It’s a crucial measure that everyone doesn’t want to skip. The Mac’s hard drive comprises all of the data and records of your personals and it might not ensure the security of your data even if you are lending it to known people or a stranger since the data can be easily accessible. In order to relieve all the doubts and make sure to secure the data you need to reset the gadget and remove all the data stored or contained in it by Factory reset. Since some of you are unaware of the Factory resetting procedure here are some ways to make sure How to Factory reset MacBook.

Prior to Factory Reset

Before you go ahead with the Factory reset, there are a couple of things you need to consider that are listed below.

a. Back up or transfer your files from Mac to external Hard Drive

To back up all of your personal information, including programmes, music, photographs, emails, and documents or if you have a backup you can restore deleted or inaccessible files. So follow the below steps to backup or transfer your files from Mac to external Hard Drive.

Step 1: Open the Finder Window

To open up a Finder window you need to double click on your external hard drive’s icon.

Step 2: Click on the Macintosh HD internal drive

Click on your Macintosh HD internal drive in a new finder window that has just opened.

Step 3: Copy the files

In Macintosh HD select all the folders. To copy, right-click. Go to the Finder window for your external hard drive, to move all files, right-click and select “paste.” It will take a bit of time for your files to transfer. Wait until the transfer status is finished.

b. Sign out from iCloud

You also need to sign out from iCloud before Factory reset. To sign out, follow the below given steps!

Step 1: Select System Preferences

Click on the Apple symbol located in the top left corner of your Mac’s screen and choose System Preferences.

Step 2: Choose iCloud

Hit the iCloud icon in the preference pan.

Step 3: Select sign out option

To get rid of duplicates of the relevant data on this Mac, uncheck every box on the list. Then click the sign out option.

c. Unpair Bluetooth

It’s a good idea to unpair any Bluetooth devices from your old Mac before giving it to your friends or any other household member so that your mouse and keyboard can manage the new Mac without interfering with the old one. To unpair a device, don’t hesitate to follow the below steps!

Step 1: Choose System Preferences

When you tap on the Apple symbol present at the top left corner. Then you will find System Preferences, hit on it.

Step 2: Choose Bluetooth

In the preference pan, choose the Bluetooth option.

Step 3: Click on the Remove button

Now select the device name you wish to unpair and click the X button to the right of its name and then tap on the remove option.

Important Note

Other than the above three, you need to sign out from iTunes, iMessages before the Factory reset.

How to Factory Reset MacBook 

The below given steps will help you to Factory reset your MacBook for the users with macOS Monterey.

Step 1:  Select Apple symbol

Firstly, click on the Apple symbols located in the top left corner of your Mac’s screen.

Step 2: Choose System Preferences

Select System Preferences appeared after tapping on the Apple symbol.

Step 3: Select Erase all contents and Settings option

From the menu bar again select the System Preferences. After that choose erase all contents and settings option.

Step 4: Hit OK Button

Now enter your MacBook password and click on the OK option.

Step 5: Wait until it restart

Again tap on Erase All Content & Settings option. Your MacBook will suddenly shut down and restart several times. Till it is finished, avoid using it.

How to Factory Reset MacBook before macOS Monterey

If your MacBook is running a version prior to macOS Monterey, follow the below instructions to Factory reset your MacBook.

Step 1: Pop up of Apple symbol

Turn on the Mac by pressing and holding the Command and R keys on the keyboard until you find the Apple symbol and then select the language.

Step 2: Tap on Continue option

Now select the Disk Utility and tap on Continue option.

Step 3: Click Erase Button

Select your startup disk which is named Macintosh HD and then click the Erase button.

Step 4: Choose Erase and Done 

Navigate to Mac OS Extended and select Erase and Done options.

Step 5: Check your Wi-Fi connection

Once check your Wi-Fi connection, select reinstall macOS, and click on Continue option. Accept the terms and conditions of the software licence agreement. Finally, your MacBook will restart.

Final Note

If you are not trying to sell or pass the MacBook to someone else or if your MacBook is slow or you wish to fix a specific altered setting. I think you can use many alternatives rather than Factory reset.

We hope How to Factory reset MacBook finds you helpful. Any doubts! Let us know in the comment box. Keep an eye out for more updates.

You can also Join Telegram, follow us for instant tech news at Google News or for tips and tricks Subscribe Our YouTube Channel

Join Us

related articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

CONNECT WITH US

208,212FansLike
17,012FollowersFollow
20,971SubscribersSubscribe

Popular